Who knew?


Who knew that I could sew something other than a quilt? Tada!

000_9884

000_9885

000_9883

Thank you to Becca for the pattern.  It’s certainly not perfect, so don’t look too close. There is a shorter version, and I think I will make it, also, as I think it will be my favorite of the two.  I thought that bias tape was going to do me in, but I finally got it on there.  The pockets were the most challenging, and I’m sure I didn’t do them quite right.  Also, the zigzag stitching of the unfinished seams.  How do you do that without it just kind of chewing them up? Can you tell that garment construction is not my strong suit? But, there are so many cute apron patterns, and I won this pattern from Becca, so I had to give it a try.  I’m pretty happy with the end result…better than I thought I would do.  It was a good distraction from other issues on my mind this weekend.

And I used 2.5 yards from my stash making it.  Year to date stash totals:

  • Incoming Yardage to date: 75 yds.
  • Outgoing Yardage to date:  66.75 yds.
  • Total Stash Busted to date: -8.25 yds.

And now this weekend is almost over…way…too…soon.

14 thoughts on “Who knew?

  1. I knew you could Randi 🙂 you are extremely talented and there probably isn’t anything you couldn’t do when you set your mind to it!
    I should make some aprons as Christmas gifts this year…maybe the older girls would appreciate them.

  2. That looks great! I’m also eyeing apron patterns, and that one was on the list. I can see how the pockets would be challenging, and I have no idea how the zigzag thing works, either. Congratulations!

  3. The apron looks great………and used stash to boot. I thinking of making aprons for Christmas presents this year. That pattern looks wonderful.

    Karen

  4. oooooo… love that apron! It has a nice length for protection from who knows what, and the neckline is really good. Nothing to tie around your neck, and nothing to fall off your shoulders.
    I love the boot fabric. : )
    Reminds me of the old Hank Williams song “Hey, hey! Good Lookin’ ~ what’s ya got cookin’?” ha ha Definitely music to bake by.

  5. Anything that isn’t totally flat is a challenge! bias tape can be a nightmare. And I cheat, I have a serger if I REALLY want to finish those seams! An apron would be great, I have a pattern and I am waiting for my best friend to visit as we had both planned to make aprons while she is here!

  6. Its WONDERFUL!! You did a super job! Thanks for sharing the pictures! I cheat by lining everything I do so that I dont have to do the finishing thing. No pointers on the bias tape.Yours looks as good as I have ever done!

    I love the colors you chose and the fact that you used it out of your stash. Ü

Leave a Reply

