Thursday Thumping


Kay does Thursday Thumpers. I have one today.  Frogging.  Yup, I’m frogging a whole row of stitching…a 91″ row of a panto by Dave Hudson that has cowboy boots & hats.  I had thread troubles.  Looked great on top, but apparently my machine does not like Lava thread in the bobbin, as it looked like it puked little blobs of it out intermittently on the back of the quilt.  Damn!  I hate frogging…hate, hate, hate it.  It’s on the commissioned quilt I’m making.  It will be ok, I just really hate frogging, THUMP, THUMP!

Now then, enough of that unpleasantness.  Congratulations are in order for my friend Ronda!! She won Best of Show at MQX! And Best Machine Quilting/Stand Up! Way to go, Ronda…I am so happy for you.  Her quilt is called Essence, and it is amazing. 

And here is a little treat for you, before I go back to frogging.  This is the quilt I have up in line next.  It’s the 60 yr. old top that my customer brought me this week.  I was hoping I would get to quilt it for her.  The only thing I’m worried about are the pencil marks.  She said to just ignore them and quilt it however I want, and if she can’t get them out she will just live with them.  I did order a fabric eraser, to see if I can at least lighten them some.  Anyway, here are some pics.

6 thoughts on “Thursday Thumping

  1. Lovely quilt! I love working on old treasures like it.

    Have you tried a Bobbin Genie? I’ve never used them but I hear that they control problems like you mentioned.

  2. Randi,
    I did a quilt recently for a customer who is 87 and I had used some blue chalk (never ever again!!!) on her quilt and could not get it out without giving the quilt a bath. She told me not to worry about it that eventually it would fade or just become part of her quilt and that in the whole scheme of things it really wasn’t that important. I love my wise friends and customers, they think I’m doing something for them by doing their quilting but often I gain more from them..their shared wisdom 🙂
    I just love this treasure you are working on and I can’t wait to see what you’ll do with it!

  3. Well, Randi you can send that frogging right up here to Wisconsin as I have a neww cellulitis attack and am back on chair and bed duty. I am very determined not to end up in the hospital this time!

    Good luck with the pencil problem, but it looks like you have gotten some answers on MQR already.

  4. I was doing some forging my self last night! Nothing major just a couple of lines but tell me… why does it seem like it only takes you five minutes to quilt it but 5 hours to frog it out?! 🙂
    As for the pencil lines o have had some luck using a past made from oxiclean and a tooth brush. Very time consuming but it took it the pencil out! Can’t wait to see it finished I know it will be great!

Leave a Reply

