Monday Menagerie and a Meme


Since I didn’t get around to a Sunday report yesterday, I’ll throw some of that in here.  I don’t have much to report as far as accomplishments, mostly due to the trip.  I did finish quilting the vintage top, and I’ll try to get some pics of that up soon.  Other than that, nothing really noteworthy quilting wise.  I didn’t buy any fabric.  I did quilt a customer fleece blanket, and I have a baby quilt coming in this week to quilt.

My weigh-in report is not so good.  I knew it wouldn’t be this week, but I didn’t know that my mother was going to make us a batch of cookies to take on our trip.  How could I say no?  And OMG, they were good.  They were addicting good.  My friend and I that went together ate the whole bag in two days.  I know there were at least 2 dozen, maybe 3.  She made a bag for the boys, too.  Five boys on the golf team, and they didn’t even eat all of theirs.  I’m serious, we could not stop eating them…we started calling them “crack” cookies, ’cause that must be how a crack addict feels…lol.  Ok, so remember those 2 lbs I lost last week?  Guess what came back to me?  Yep…starting weight was 145…my weight yesterday was 147, for a total GAIN of 2 lbs.  Crap! Oh well, I’ll be back on track this week.  I’m disappointed, but not discouraged! Besides the cookies are all gone now 🙂

I totally enjoyed watching the Daytona 500 yesterday, even though I was having a somewhat bad day otherwise.  I was happy to see Ryan Newman win, too.  Really happy to see Kyle Busch NOT win 🙂   My apologies to you Busch brother fans.  I don’t really care for either of them. 

Why was I not having a good day?  I have had a relatively easy child to raise, thus far.  He’s a good kid, really good kid.  I’m not just prejudiced, he is a good kid.  And I’ve always been able to reason with him.  But we have begun to butt heads a bit, and it’s all over a girl.  Lord, give me the wisdom, strength, and heart to handle 16.   And give him the wisdom to understand.  And please don’t ever let him decide to move out and go live with his real dad and step-mom (which he says he will never do, but I still worry about it).

Now for a bit of fun.  I was tagged a few days ago by Southern Girl Musings, to do this little Meme.  Here are the rules.

Now, you chosen ones, this is what you have to do:
1. Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird.
3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs.
4. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

Okay, now for my 7 things:

1. I love going bass fishing with my husband.

2. I was named after my uncle Randy Matson, who was an Olympic Silver medalist in 1964, and the Gold medalist in the 1968 Olympics, for throwing the shot put. 

3.  I love NASCAR! Boogity, boogity, boogity…let’s go racin’ boys! 

4. I wear a gun to work, a .40 caliber Glock.

5. In the spring, if we have had a lot of rain, and our yard gets a lot of baby toads in it, I will go around the yard and collect them in a bucket, before my son mows, so they won’t get smashed.  Then I let them go again, after he is done…every week, til they are gone.

6. I’m not much of a traveler…I’m uncomfortable in unfamiliar situations.

7.  I’m not what I call a “foofy” girl…you know…a really girly girl…hair & makeup done perfectly “all” the time, manicures, etc. 

Hmmm…who to tag…how about Diane, Kay, Gayle, Jan, Freda, Carla, and Terri.  Ok, so play if you like, if not, that’s fine, too! No pressure.  If I didn’t tag you, and you want to play anyway, go right ahead!

8 thoughts on “Monday Menagerie and a Meme

  1. Oh the cabana boy calls those cookies potato chip cookies… and we made him 60 for Valentines day… gone gone gone…. my hips found them all…. even the ones they ate?!!! Sending you hugs on the DS thing. No words of wisdom, just peace vibes. I’ll list seven after the princess goes to be tonight 😀

  2. Hey Randi good to see you back 🙂 If I had a bag of cookies today they’d be gone…so I just won’t bake any.
    You know that you’ve done your very best raising your son, you’ve taught him what he needs to know, you’ve guided him in knowing how to make right choices, you’ve role modeled well for him…now the tough part in my opinion…you need to trust him to make the right choices and yep he’ll probably make some mistakes but its best for that to happen while he’s living safely in the nest…I was given very wise parenting advice years ago about not letting things like this damage your relationship with your children. anyways you have my prayers 🙂

  3. This is going to send me nuts, I’ve searched your blog and cannot find what you do for a living. You carry a gun!?
    Are you in the police force?
    Kids and unsuitable relationships…. I encouraged my child to bring the relevant low life home. I made them both welcome so at least this was in my home. In the end my child saw sense but I had the benefit of being able to talk to both of them.
    Sally

  4. Thanks for doing the meme. 🙂 I was happy that the Busch brothers didn’t win either but you know my guy didn’t have much boogity boogity boogity with those suspensions problems. 😦 Gorgeous quilts, can fish and shoot, well aren’t you just something? 😉

  5. Glad you’re back. Don’t worry about the weight setback…it happens. And the teenager…well that will work out too. Been there, done that. (And still living…LOL)

  6. You should be proud of me… I actually watched part of the race! I am so not a nascar fan, so this was a good thing. LOL

    You wear a Glock to work? Wow!

  7. No fair Randy! I already KNEW all 7 of your meme items about you! LOL. I got a chuckle out of that. I also had a very easy time raising a really good kid. Never gave me a lick of trouble until recently (she is 19). Actually, I just worry about her making bad chioces that will effect the rest of her life (although I DO LIKE her boyfriend). I wish you luck and listen to Wendy, she has great advice! You’ve done a wonderful job with him so far. He is just testing the waters now and wants to break away a bit. Keep talking and LISTENING. You will do great! Best of luck to you!
    Diana

  8. I think it’s perfectly normal to save toads! Now if you needed to wear the Glock while saving them ….that would be weird. lol So does that make you a hitwoman or is it just a southern thing? lol

Leave a Reply

