Only 77 more to go…


ufo.jpgJudy L has been discussing UFO’s on her blog.  Thanks a lot, Judy…you guilted me into pulling this old UFO back out 😉  I started this in either 1998 or 1999.  I sewed up a storm on it, until…..I got to the part of adding all those last logs that will make the stars when the blocks are sewn together.  I do NOT like sewing those.  I really want to finish this quilt.  It is intended for my bed.  I am trying to figure out a system to get it done, that won’t seem overwhelming to me.  I have 77 more blocks that need the last logs added.  Finish a block a day…a block every other day…If I did one every day, I would have the blocks all finished in just over two months.  Somehow, I don’t see a block a day, every day, happening.  Maybe you guys can hold me accountable on this project.  Like, if I haven’t given a blocks done update in awhile, scold me for not working on it! 🙂

I really don’t have too many UFO’s.  I can think of three off the top of my head. What I mostly have, and I really don’t want to know how many there are, are WOBs.  What are WOBs?  This is a term I have made up for all my quilts that are Waiting On Bindings.  I’m awful about getting the quilting done, then off to another project.  Unless it’s a quilt I’m getting paid for, then I seem to get right on that binding, but my own just lay around, bindingless.  I am even using one on my bed right now :-0  How awful is that?  And it’s not the first one I’ve used that way.  And months ago, I made my son a cute lap quilt with golf fabric.  Guess what it is still lacking? 

I can think of 4 PIGS that I have, that I need to start on.  Well 5, actually, if you take into consideration that one of those PIGS will actually make 2 lap quilts.  One for DH & one for me. 

I have two waiting on quilting, one personal, one customer.  The customer top is waiting only because I had to order the batting for it, and it hasn’t arrived yet. 

I did make the binding for Mom’s quilt today, and hope to get it stitched to the front of the quilt this weekend.  I have my cousin’s commissioned king quilt to start on….

Oh dear, and here I am piddling away the minutes on this blog.  Guess I better get off of here!  Yea, thanks a lot, Judy!

7 thoughts on “Only 77 more to go…

  1. My suggestion is take the sewing machine into the tv room, set it on the coffee table in front of the couch and just chain sew those until they are done done done. Make it a marathon the guys are out chick flick night and get it done. I saw Judy’s blog too… made me dang thankful none of you ever found my address 😀

  2. Nope, Jan…no way that marathon thing will happen with these blocks. I can’t stand to work on them for that long at a time…lol. Also, I have to do each one at a time, because I have the logs paired and stacked on top of the block they are to be sewn onto. It is scrappy, but there is some matching going on, too. If I don’t do them one at a time, I will get them all mixed up…waaahhhhh…

  3. 3 ufos???? really? i can’t even imagine what that would be like. it must be like that ellusive “last 5 pounds”. sigh. kayp

  4. I remembered one more UFO…so that makes 4 of those. I can think of TEN WOBs, right off the top of my head. TEN!

  5. Oh, pleeezzzzzzz! Blame someone else?? You gotta be kidding!! Well, if it makes you feel better, you can blame me. Here’s what I would do (maybe). Decide how many blocks you can stand to make each day . . 5?? 7?? Sit down and do them . . get up earlier each day if you have to. Get them done! I’d get them done quickly and get it over with. Yep . . easy for me to say with all these UFO’s I have sitting around. No one in their right mind would take advice from me, huh?

  6. LOL Judy! I’m only blaming you for making me think about them…hehehehe…I am solely responsible for them being in the unfinished states they are in. 🙂 I love, love, love your blog, BTW! Always inspiring.

Leave a Reply

